Practise Session: Recreating a Stormtrooper in Adobe Illustrator

In today’s session, I attempted to recreate the image of a Stormtrooper helmet in Adobe Illustrator. The first thing that I did was take the original image and load it into Photoshop. I had to posterise the image and change the contrast settings to make it easier to trace onto Illustrator. This was a step that I should have taken with my last image, as it would have made the process much easier.

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 16.15.35Star-Wars-A-New-Hope-Stormtrooper-Helmet copy

In a new layer, I used the pen tool to trace the outline of the image before using the Live Trace tool, because the outline faded whenever I tried directly tracing it. After tracing the outline, I duplicated the unedited layer, then used the Live Trace tool to define the black outline and convert it into a vector image. I then re-used the pen tool and traced around the black outline again, so I could clean up some of the inaccuracies and smooth some of the edges. I also did the same with the grey areas of the image.

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 16.29.48Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 16.53.51

Here is the final image: stormtrooper

Leave a Reply

